Days 13 and 14 – the Pilgrim Hospitals…no I wasn’t sick

 

 

ST ANTON/ST NICHOLAS – This Camino has found me each night in different kinds of Albergues (pilgrim hostels), either private, municipal, or religious.  An Albergues is more or less a modern building with large rooms of bunk beds, showers, laundry facilities, and toilets.  Each has its own rules and personality, and are an essential part of The Camino experience.  It is where you meet other pilgrims and swap stories about the day.

Yep, the top one is my bed

 

Before Albergues, pilgrims slept outside, in homes, and when in trouble or danger, Hospitals.   The modern day hospital, sometimes called a hospice, are a throwback to a more ancient experience and have a special set of guidelines.

  1. No electricity, hot water or wifi
  2. Staffed by volunteers
  3. Located in historically significant places (a former hospital or hospice) that are remote
  4. The door never closes, and they never turn away a pilgrim.
  5. Donativo – by donation.

I have not seen these rules written anywhere, they are ones observed in practice.

Tonight I stayed at Hospital de Peregrinos de San Antón, or the Hospital for the Pilgrims of Saint Anthony which is among the 14c ruins of a former monastery, outpost and hospital for a now defunct order of the Catholic Church.   The Order of Saint Anthony was a healing order based on the Egyptian 3c hermit of the same name.

Walking into San Anton’s

I came to know St. Anthony in 2005 when the staff at my first church gave me 10” figurine.  St. Anthony is the patron saint of lost things, and I was forever losing my keys (among other things).  About a month after this gift found a home on my bookshelf, the Saint committed suicide one night by jumping off and cracking off both his head, and the head of baby Jesus.  I guess my disorganization was just too much.

San Anton’s, what it might have looked like in 14c

San Anton’s located here in the 12c, to both protect the pilgrims of the Camino, and help the sick or wounded.  In the 18c the order became corrupt and was disbanded by the Pope and the monastery fell into ruin.

San Anton’s inside where we stay

The ruins are beautiful, and the architecture impressive.  When checking in the volunteer, Karri, reminds me that there is no electricity, warm showers, wifi, or other modern amenities.  It feels like I’m signing a waiver of liability, but I’m excited to stay here. I am the first and over the afternoon, six other come along including a man from South Africa, who displays his flag on his backpack.  One of the volunteers is also from South Africa, so we have a fun African moment.

San Anton’s

I would later learn that people who want to stay at a Hospital are a different breed.  One might think they are here for the adventure of it, but it seems they have their reasons for walking The Camino. I pulled that string and learned one had lost her husband in November, but before his death they had watched the movie The Way, and he told her he wanted her to do it after he was gone.  Two other Dutch women had left their husbands of 30 years, another was on his way back after reaching Santiago, having left his wife and daughter four years earlier and walked her from (and was heading back to) Switzerland, and then there was me.

San Anton’s

As I listen to their stories before dinner, I felt the weight of emotional sadness filled the room.  The weight of their packs is nothing compared to what they are carrying, emotionally.

The next night when I stayed in Hospice of San Nicolas, and had the good fortune to run into The Marys, who I hadn’t seen in days, I asked “How do you do it?”

The Marys and Steve, reunited.

I was shutting down from compassion fatigue, and needed advice from these Nurse.  This night, I pulled no strings, but they didn’t know.  I watched their pastoral care, and how adept they were at keeping boundaries.

St. Nicks at sunset

A highlight of the camino is the communal meal, a meal we cook, wash up after, and eat together like family.  This candlelit meal feels like you are a part of something special, unique and when I meet pilgrims who have shared this experience in the following days, there is a common bond.

Dinner at St. Nicks

In the morning I vow to find a regular Albergues, one with electricity, and a proper pilgrim meal.  All my devices are run down, I’m tired of pasta, and am struggling with “a pilgrim is always grateful”.

Kerri writes “walk in Joy”

Karri told the story of her first Camino after she turned 50.  She was a driven software developer from California, and had come to conquer the Camino…until she reached San Anton’s.  Here she had the sort of experience I am discovering I am having.  That it wasn’t about the destination, or the number of miles walked, or even your arrival time.  What The Camino uses is your Journey.  “Nobody does a second Camino faster,” she jokes, but her meaning is clear, why not walk this Camino as if it was your second?

Altar.

After all my jousting about Ambition yesterday, I leave San Anton’s rethinking several days of conclusions.  Karri will soon return to the States as her two weeks are up, (volunteers have a two week maximum stay, to avoid the emotional burnout of listening to pilgrim’s stories every night).

The older Way, see Tau mark?

In the morning,  I take a more ancient path not on the road and just before reaching town, double back to take a picture of them as a reminder of the change they began in this Camino of mine.

Karri is on the left.

“All journeys have secret destinations for which the traveler is unaware,” she reminds me as I leave the second time.  I feel lighter, and excited about the course correction Kerri has begun and the secret destinations of my Camino.

Fin.

 

2 thoughts on “Days 13 and 14 – the Pilgrim Hospitals…no I wasn’t sick

  1. The Statesman had a piece on the Camino this morning and it made me think of you. It sounds like you’re learning a lot from others’ stories – while balancing emotional/compassion burnout.

    • Yes, I’m managing. Something Aunt Beth taught me years ago. When someone signals to you they are an unkind/untrustworthy person… Believe Them. I can’t seem to shake such a person on this walk. I’m in Leon, where we were going to start out walk last fall.

Leave a Reply

